Garlic and Rosemary Piggy

Work-wise, last week was a long one. So when Friday hit, I was less than thrilled with the idea of cooking but absolutely dreaded the idea of leaving my condo and entering the cold night in search of food. Plus, I had everything I needed at home sans motivation.

After some major vegging out on the couch I mustered enough energy to whip up a pork tenderloin and some quick mashed potatoes and salad. Pork tenderloins are so easy, just season and pop in the oven. But I find myself often doing the same prep each time. To switch it up, I looked around for ideas that other people were using and then jumbled a few together and came up with this bad boy.

Garlic and Rosemary Roasted Pork Tenderloin– here’s what you’ll need:
– 2.5-3lb pork tenderloin
– 6 cloves of garlic
– 2 tablespoons dried rosemary
– 2 tablespoons onion powder
– 1/2 cup olive oil
– salt and pepper to taste
– 1 cup chicken or vegetable broth

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees farenheit. In a food processor or blender combine the garlic, dried rosemary, onion powder, olive oil, and s&p. This will look pretty green and smell wonderful.

PT1

PT2

To prep the meat, pierce the meat with a knife then pour the garlic and rosemary paste over the tenderloin, working to cover the enter loin.

PT3

PT4

Place the tenderloin in a baking pan and pop it in the oven– basting throughout the cooking process with liquids from the pan. Cook time will be about 1 hour– use a meat thermometor to ensure that the pork cooks to an internal temp of 145 degrees.

Once cooked, remove the tenderloin from the oven and place on a serving platter. In the baking pan, add 1 cup chicken or vegetable broth and stir to loosen the bits on the bottom of the pan– put in a gravy boat for drizzling!

PT5

PT6

The paste keeps the meat nice and moist throughout the cooking process and the seasonings created a nice savory flavor. Full transparency, I used white wine rather than chicken or veggie broth as indicated above– too sweet for my liking, that is why I suggested the broth instead. Also, think next time I will “marinate” the meat in the paste for a few hours before cooking! With these few tweaks, I think I will love this dish even more! Hope you enjoy!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

