Sloppy Mo’s

As with most people around this time of year, I resolved to make healthier choices. I have been fairly diligent about it but when my boyfriend requested Sloppy Mo’s (aka sloppy joe’s) and tater tots for dinner, I couldn’t deny his request. What I could do was limit my tot consumption, add a real veggie side, and avoid the canned sauce and make my own. So I did just that!

The steps are pretty straight forward… I started by browning two pounds of lean ground beef with a 1/2 cup of chopped onion and a 1/2 cup of chopped green pepper.

SM2

Meanwhile in a small bowl, I whisked together, 1 1/2 cups of Heinz Ketchup, 2 teaspoons French’s Dijon Mustard with Chardonnay, 1 teaspoon garlic powder and 2 tablespoons brown sugar.

SM1

SM3

Once the meat has browned and the veggies are tender, drain the meat and return to the pan. Fold in the sauce mixture and allow to simmer on low for about 30 minutes. If you like your Sloppy Mo’s saucy- pop a lid on the skillet. Like ’em thick and sticky? Leave the lid off… either way, stir occassionally. Plate and enjoy!!

SM5

Seriously, so much better than the canned sauce and pretty much nothing beats Ore Ida’s crispy tots. Enjoy!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

