Don’t judge a book…

We have all heard the adage “you should never judge a book by its cover”. And I am the first to admit, I have done just that (many, many times). Typically on this blog when I write about food it is either food that I have made or food at/from a restaurant. With that in mind, this might come as a surprise to you but today, I am featuring the Thai Shrimp Bisque with soy and coconut from the cafe at my office. Yup, you read that correctly, the cafe at my office. I don’t know where you work but in most employers’ cafes, the food tends to be pretty run of the mill.

Needless to say, I was stunned when the soup “tasting spoon” hit my lips. Upon first taste, I knew I had to get a bowl.
TSB

The color of the soup was a vibrant orange and rather than being smooth like many other bisques, it was thick and chunky. There were diced shrimp, chilies, green peppers, and long grain rice . The soup had a ton of zip. I say zip over spice because I tend to prefer things on the hot side and I don’t think is quite qualifies as hot. There was nice balance between the zip and the sweetness of the coconut. It was well-balanced and a nice mid-day surprise when I had thought I was going to be lost to salad bar oblivion.

Lesson-learned– grab a tasting spoon, try it out… you might be surprised!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

