Grilled to Perfection

So, it is has been way too long but I am going to keep this one short and sweet. I promise I will make up for my absence. I am usually a fairly healthy eater but with my schedule the past few weeks this endeavor seems to have gone to the wayside. Nonetheless, I am back on the bandwagon and today all I could think about (no joke) was portobello mushrooms.

See, when I was in high school I worked at an Italian Restaurant in Clive, Iowa called Cosi Cucina. They had a great selection on their menu but one of my all time favorites was the Grilled Portobello appetizer. It was simple and clean; just the perfect combination of spices. So as I was day-dreaming about mushrooms at work, I figured I would give it a try at home tonight.

Keeping things simple, I prepped two large portobello mushroom caps by rinsing and letting them air dry. I then used a spoon to gently scrape the gills from the underside of the ‘shroom. With the now-gill-less side up I drizzled the cap with olive oil, sea salt, fresh ground pepper and minced garlic. I let the oil and spice soak in for about 10 minutes and then repeated this step again sans garlic. Once absorpbed, I ran outside to light the grill (about medium to high heat). Before putting the caps on the grill, I flipped the mushrooms over and lightly drizzled with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Once the grill was ready to go I conducted somewhat of an experiment. I wasn’t certain if it was best to put it right on the grate or if I should put it in a grill pan. So, I did one each way. Super simple to cook; 5 minutes each side and you are done! No joke, it is that simple!

1

2

3

These turned out to be the perfect summer dinner! And I much preferred the mushroom that went straight on the grill. Savory but light and absolutely delicious! I will absolutely be having this for dinner again soon– thankfully I have two more in the fridge as we speak!!!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

