Avocado…Cheese…Black beans…drool…

A couple weeks back my younger brother was in town visiting and was dying to try Bryant Lake Bowl for lunch. He had already scoped out the menu and this guy was on a mission. Now, I have only been to BLB for brunch (not my favorite) or a night cap (surprisingly large array of options). Needless to say, I was somewhat on the fence about lunch but I had to indulge his cravings!

BL5

BL1

Apparently mid-day drinking is not his thing (even when on “vacation”) so we skipped the libations and dove right into the menu. Being that he had already memorized the menu, he was set on the Black Bean Burger. I on the other hand vacillated between the Bad Breath Burger and the Red Barn White Cheddar Grilled Cheese; tough choices!

BL2

I waited until the waitress came to make the final decision under pressure. She suggested the grilled cheese plus avocado and fresh garlic. Drooling commenced. I was sold. Though busy, it was only a short while before our food was served.

BL3

The grilled cheese was toasted to perfection. The creaminess of the cheese and avocado were puncuated with the spicy kick of fresh garlic. I loved this– I think the only thing that could enhance this sandwich would be bacon. That being said, I would add bacon to just about anything in order to reach “peak flavor”.

BL4

Al’s black bean burger was INSANE! The patty was made up of black beans, corn, peppers and had a spicy kick to compliment the creamy avocado and cilantro aioli. Somehow no matter what my brother orders, I always end up coveting his meal. The burger was served with a mixed green salad with a very light yet tasty peanut dressing.

With the combination of efficient and friendly service accompanied by each of us enjoying our meal I am pretty certain I would re-visit Bryant Lake Bowl for lunch or dinner. But next time, I think I am going to have to go for the Bad Breath Burger!

Cheers!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

