Eggs… it’s what for dinner

A couple weeks ago I ordered an egg white and veggie omelet from the resturant downstairs at my office. Then that weekend my girlfriend was talking about her favorite egg white omelet. Thus, it was time to take a stab at my own.

I opted for lean chicken sausage, asparagus, red onions, mushrooms and about 1/4 cup of low fat italian cheeses.

Oh and of course some eggs– whites only

I started by cooking the sausage in a pan on the stove– once thoroughly cooked I sliced it up and attempted not to eat it right then and there.

 

I returned the sausage to the pan and tossed in the veggies

Once everything was nice and tender, I pulled the pan from the stove and set it aside. In a small bowl I whipped together 3 eggs whites and about a teaspoon of milk and poured it into a small non-stick pan.

As the eggs began to firm up, it was time to add the meat and veggie mixture. And then after a couple minutes I added the cheese (yum!)

Once the cheese was slightly melted and the eggs almost entirely cooked, I used a thin spatula to fold the “un-topped” side onto the other. (Sorry this was a two handed process and thus no action shots).

It turned out delish nonetheless– I did add a little salt and pepper and in the future might add some red pepper flakes. Now pull your pan out and get cooking!!! 

 

One thought on “Eggs… it’s what for dinner

  1. tony calle says:

    looks soo dang goood

Leave a Reply

