Ms. Couric’s Lemon Squares

My first time… making lemon bars

While I try to eat healthymostof the time, a girl has gotta have some sweets every once in a while. I was at the gym a few weeks back, sweating away on the elliptical when I saw Katie Couric’s Lemon Bar recipe (droolworthy) in People Magazine. I had never made lemon bars but it look fairly straightforward, and I was excited to have yet another excuse to use my food processor.

Here’s what I needed:

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 cups flour and 6 tablespoons flour, divided
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 6 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Rind of 1 lemon, grated

I began by preheating my oven to 350 degrees and lightly greasing a 13×9″ baking pan. In a food processor, I blended powdered sugar, 2 cups flour and salt. Then added butter and pulsed until the mixture was crumbly.

Once the correct consistency was met, I pressed the dough mixture into the pan and baked for 20 minutes.

While the crust was baking, I beat eggs, sugar, flour and lemon juice in a large mixing bowl until well incorporated.

Once thoroughly mixed– time to add the lemon rind

When the timer rang, I pulled the crust from the oven just as the edges were turning golden brown.

I then poured the lemon mixture on and popped the pan back in the oven to bake for an additional 25 minutes

After 25 minutes had passed, I pulled the pan from the oven and let the lemon bars cool completely; once cooled, I sprinkled with powdered sugar

I poured myself a cold glass of milk and dug in

The bars were decadent in flavor but light and satisfying. Big lemon flavor filled every bite, while the crust was light and crumbly; creating a great balance of flavor and texture. With very little preparation and packed full of  flavor this might just be the perfect summer dessert.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

