I’ll have mine medium rare…

My first time… making a sirloin roast 

Last Sunday I remembered that I had purchased a sirloin roast with the intention of finding a recipe to try as I had never made a roast before. I searched and searched until I found one that sounded good then looked around the kitchen to see if I had all the ingredients. Lo and behold… I didn’t.

So, I worked with what I had. I started by adding kosher salt, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes into a bowl.

Next up I added olive oil to the mix and whisked briskly.

I set the mixture aside and lined a metal brownie pan with foil and positioned the meat for the slathering.

I preheated the oven and then covered the roast with the spice mixture; making sure to coat all sides evenly.

I let the meat sit while the oven continued to pre-heat; bringing the roast to room temperature– then once ready, I popped that baby in the oven for an hour.

When the timer buzzed I inserted a meat thermometer into the thickest part of the meat– reading about 140 degrees (which is very rare) I turned off the oven and returned the meat to the oven to sit for another 15 minutes.

I kept a close eye on the meat thermometer and once it reached 160 degrees (medium rare) I pulled the roast from the oven and started slicing. The smells from the meat were incredible… but no drool hit the meat… just the foil.

It was seriously just the right temperature and still a little bloody. It was savory with a little kick. I think the only thing I would change is that I would use less salt the next go round but this will definitely be making the rotation, it was DELISH!!!

For those who want the measurements— your wish is my command

  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 2.5-3 lb sirloin roast

Now get in the kitchen and GET COOKIN’!!

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

