Aloha!

My first…meal in Kauai

I cannot believe I have been back from paradise for a week now. Somewhat disheartening but keeps me excited for my next adventure.

We landed in Kauai in the late afternoon. Having not eaten since we left Minneapolis, all of our minds and our stomachs were focused on food. We dropped off our luggage and headed to a nearby Hawaii mainstay; Duke’s.

First up, it was time for a much needed drink. I opted for the Tropical Itch which was made up of Passion Fruit juice, Orange Curacao, with a dark rum float.

The scents from the restaurant and the salty ocean air continued our need for food. Everything that was being served around us looked drool-worthy. Our serve recommended the Panko Crusted Calamari with the tropical cocktail sauce.

The pieces of calamari were enormous and the panko crust super light. I was leery of the cocktail sauce as I don’t usually love sweet sauces but it was just the right amount of sweet to compliment the calamari’s saltiness.

For the main dish, I ordered the Spinach and Shrimp Salad which was composed of spinach, grilled shrimp, praline pecans, Kunana Dairy goat cheese and drizzled with a warm bacon vinegarette. It was divine.

Not a bad first meal if you ask me! More stories and pictures to come.

Cheers!

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Aloha!

  1. Sounds wonderful! I am so envious. Will be looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

