Is there a bad time for sushi?

My first time… at The Social House 

On Wednesday my girlfriend Christine and I headed out for her belated birthday celebration. As a fellow lover of sushi, she opted for a new sushi restaurant called Social House; on the corner of Lagoon and Hennepin in Uptown. Not only was I looking forward to celebrating but  I was also looking forward to it because I had never been there before.

I apologize for the lack of food pictures. When we got to the Social House it as late afternoon and the floor to ceiling windows allowed in a great deal of light. But as the evening progressed, the wine flowed, the sun set and thus terribly dim lighting for food pictures (I need a new camera). Nonetheless, we started with the Edamame which could be served hot with sea salt or tossed in a spicy chili sauce; we picked chili sauce. The we chose three rolls the Fuyu, #9 and Christine’s favorite, the Philly; add cucumber, no avocado. They were all pretty good although I would say not the best sushi I have ever had but it did the trick.

The Social House has a great atmosphere, and a wonderful happy hour. As they have more experience under their belt I think that the food will continue to improve. Our service was fantastic; very attentive and willing to give recommendations. She also allowed us to swap out a complimentary dessert for a birthday shot instead. Christine loved it and I had a great time catching up with her!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

