Hot Damn!

My first time… doing a “restaurant” mimic

Everyone has one…whether it is gossip magazines, ice cream, reality tv or online shopping, everyone has a guilty pleasure. While I would consider myself a healthy eater most days, one of my guilty pleasures is McDonald’s fries with Hot Mustard. The fries of course are hot, crispy, salty and delicious. But I must admit I think my favorite part is the mustard.So… I set out on a mission to re-create the mustard at home!

Surprisingly, there are a few recipe variations on the internet. I snagged one and made a few slight modifications in attempt to make one of my favorite dipping sauces. Here’s all I needed:

  • 6 tablespoons yellow mustard (recommend using an off brand)
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 4 teaspoons dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon mayo
  • 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

I combined all ingredients in a small microwave-safe bowl and mixed well. Once combined I put the bowl in the microwave for about 40 seconds. Mixed again. Then put in an airtight container over night; this allowed all the flavors to combine.

The outcome was incredible!!! So close to the original– I think the only change I would make the next go round is that I would use a little less cayenne pepper. Get to dippin’!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

