Lake Huh?!

My first time… in, at and near Lake Calhoun

If you are from around these parts please pick up your jaw of the floor… I’ll give you a minute. If you are not familiar with the area you have at least heard “Minnesota, Land of 10,000 Lakes”. This is no joke. There are thousands upon thousands of lakes, in fact there is more shoreline in the state of Minnesota than there is in California,  who knew?!

Anyway, right in the middle of Minneapolis and perhaps what some might refer to as the heart of Minneapolis is a series of lakes, the largest being Lake Calhoun. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have driven around the lake in my car and seen the lake from afar but never had I ever stepped foot on a beach at Lake Calhoun or dipped my toes in the water. And to many Minnesotans this may be considered a mortal sin. Nonetheless, I was thrilled when my girlfriend Kristin invited me to join her and few other friends last Friday afternoon for a day at the beach.

Ahhh... Calhoun

With the recent influx in hot and humid Minnesota summer that finally arrived, the lake provided refuge to the heat and it was the perfect way to kick of the 4th of July weekend! Next time I’m heading to the Tin Fish for some seafood fare!

Leave a Reply

