Hey Mama!

Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Mom,

I know that I have not been the easiest kid to raise, but I would not be me without you. I am so blessed to call you my mom. You are strong yet vulnerable, loving yet tough. You have shown me how to be open, flexible, creative, encouraging, thoughtful and so much more. Thank you for all your life lessons and of course your unconditional love. If I am ever blessed with the opportunity to be a mother, I will pass along all that you have taught me.

I listen to this song often and while it does not directly apply the chorus certainly does, and always reminds me of you. Love you

Well the sun just got through going down on a sleepy little Texas town
Population plus one minus one
A new grandma rocks my sister’s kid just like twenty years ago she did
The same thing in that same chair
She said “this one’s born to run”

Every day at noon like a chapel bell find her Jesus keep her well
Help her do more right than wrong at the end of the day
I got 5 good years and a tank of gas, fifty watts and Johnny Cash
A guitar and a broken heart just full of things to say
You taught me how to stand those tests and trials
But you can’t see a desert sunrise in the bible

She loves me more that anything
And she wants the world for me
Her west dropped of in El Paso,
And her north in Abilene
Mama I’m OK out here
I’ve seen how hard the world can be
My step is sure and I know my name
I’m strong just like you prayed I’d be
I’m strong just like you prayed I’d be

If I’d have done what you and daddy done, would have never lost and never won
Or gotten myself kicked when I was down
I would not know how to travel well, A hundred bucks and cheap motels
I would not know how to fight for my own heart next time around

Now don’t you cry another night about me
In this city I’ve got angels all around me

She loves me more that anything
And she wants the world for me
Her west dropped of in El Paso
And her north in Abilene
Hey Mama I’m OK out here
I’ve seen how hard the world can be
My step is sure and I know my name
I’m strong just like you prayed Id be
I’m strong just like you prayed I’d be

I felt it every time you prayed for me
I’m strong just like you prayed I’d be 

-Mama I’m Alright- Miranda Lambert-

Day 80: Your favorite childhood movie

This is a toughy– there are so many years of childhood. My knee-jerk response would be The Little Mermaid, but then as I grew older I loved The Adventures in Babysitting. Of course there are many others that come to mind but as funny as it sounds I have a recent favorite childhood movie.

Around Christmas time I was with my niece Lola and was surprised that she as watching The Wizard of Oz. Being only 3 I was worried that this might be scary for her. I told her that when I was a little girl I distinctly remember having to hide behind my dad’s back when the Wicked Witch and her monkeys showed their faces on the screen. I said if you get scared you can always cover your eyes or we can change the channel. Very matter of factly she looked up at me and said “Momack, why didn’t your dad tell you to be brave? If you get scared, you can just hold my hand”. Thus, my new favorite childhood movie obsession began. I have since purchased this movie for Lola and can’t wait to watch it with her next time we are together. Love you Loli!

"...And we're off to the the Wizard"



Leave a Reply

