“Have you ever been on a real shrimp boat?” “No, but I been on a real BIG boat”

The first time…. I made Sausage and Seafood Gumbo

A few years back, perhaps many years back, my mom gifted me a Better Homes and Garden cookbook. This was a long standing tradition as my grandmother cooked many things from this “cooking bible” as did my mom. While I was extremely excited when I received it, I must admit that I didn’t use it all that often; college years didn’t lend to skimming through cookbooks much less reading, required or otherwise.

Needless to say it was a huge surprise when recently my mom gave me a Sausage and Seafood Gumbo recipe… that was from the cookbook. I was blown away by how delicious it sounded and thought “how could I have missed this…!?” Oh yeah, college. Anyway, this past weekend I thought I would give it the good old college try 🙂

I started with two medium-sized bowls for ingredients. In one I sliced about a pound of andouille sausage and added about 2 cups of seafood (Paella  mix from Costco). In the other I added 2 cups sliced okra, 1 cup chopped white onion, 1/2 cup of chopped celery, 1/2 cup of chopped green pepper, and 4 cloves minced garlic.

I set the bowls aside and started my roux– noun-for a cooked mixture of flour and used to thicken soups, stews and sauces. I heated a small pot to high and added both flour and oil

roux

Just a note: make sure to have a wooden spoon handy and stir constantly, otherwise your roux will burn. Slowly but surely the oil and flour will become smooth

just keep stirring, stirring, stirring...

Once smooth I reduced heat to medium and stirred constantly until the roux turned an auburn color. Then I set it aside to cool

smells kind funky

In the meantime, I poured 3 1/2 cups of water into a large stock pot and turn the heat to low. Then stirrred in the roux and added the meat mixture to the pot

I ended up halving the sausage slices mid way through

Next I added the vegetable mix as well as 1/2 teaspoon of salt and pepper as well as 1/4 teaspoon of ground red pepper

closer...

I covered and cooked on low heat for 6 to 7 hours (Shortcut: cook on high for 3 to 3 1/2 hours) and WAH LA!

YUUUUUMMM!

The recipe suggested to serve the gumbo over three cups of hot cooked rice but instead I opted to serve with warm krusty french bread– can’t go wrong! Hungry yet?

Day 63: Sports award

Unfortunately for you but fortunately for me I don’t have any pictures of myself playing sports nor of my sports awards. I looked a little something like this…

(stock photo-- not actually me)

Yea, that’s right, hardass!I was a black belt in Tae Kwon Do; started in 4th grade and practiced up through my junior year of high school. It was great exercise and an awesome way to learn discipline and gain confidence!

One thought on ““Have you ever been on a real shrimp boat?” “No, but I been on a real BIG boat”

  1. tony calle says:

    GUMBO GET IN MY BELLY!

Leave a Reply

