Slow down…

My first… time I have realized that I need to slow down (a little)

Since Labor Day, I have been going NON-STOP! Whether it is hosting guests, traveling home, happy hour, or simply day to day life, I feel like I haven’t been able to take a deep breath. On Friday we devoted an evening to simply “us”. We decided to take it easy, have some drinks and make this the most relaxing weekend in the past few months.

Saturday morning I eased into my day by heading to the gym. I parked my car, threw my gym bag over my shoulder and strolled toward the front door. Halfway to the door I saw a leaf that looked just like a heart, didn’t think anything of it and continued on my way. In that moment realized that that while this was to be a relaxing weekend, things also need to slow down. I need to slow down. I walked back to that leaf and snapped a quick photo. I mean how often do you see a leaf that looks just like a heart?!?

We walk past little miracles, anomalies, and phenomenons on a daily basis and this weekend has been a reminder that I need to take some time to marvel at the beauty around me–even if it is a fallen leaf come to rest on the pavement.

Beauty in the least expected place

2 thoughts on “Slow down…

  1. Jan says:

    Yeessss …. Miracles truly do surround us each and every day. It is these serendipitous moments that are whispering to us to pay attention! What a great reminder for us all.

  2. rotariankatie says:

    That is amazing! Also, you are so, so, so, right.

Leave a Reply

