My first… modification of a recipe… THAT WORKED!

When I skim through the Rachael Ray magazine, or my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, I usually follow the recipe provided and (cross your fingers) everything turns out well. With the original recipe I had found I was prepping for a girls night and only had about half of the ingredients. So instead of running to the store and buying all the “correct” ingredients I opted to use what I had (gasp!) and improvise.

The outcome: Veggie Feta Pasta Salad and now my boyfriends favorite side!

What you will need:

  • 1 cup Orzo pasta (or in this instance “O’s”)
  • 2 cups frozen corn, thawed
  • 1/2 cup red pepper
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes (sliced)
  • 1/2 cup pitted black olives (diced)
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Feta cheese

Just the beginning...

Begin by bringing a pot of water to boil– and cook pasta to al dente directions (usually 6 to 7 minutes). While the pasta is boiling chop, slice and dice your veggies

Diced Black Olives

Cherry Tomatoes

Onion

Thawed Corn

Basil and Parsley (yum!)

Combine all veggies in a large bowl and set aside

Summer colors

While pasta finishes boiling it’s time to make the dressing. Combine salt, pepper, olive oil, and white wine vinegar– in a small bottle or container with a lid and shake until mixed thoroughly.

Remove pasta from heat and drain– run under cold water until noodles feel cool to the touch– add noodles. Drizzle dressing over everything and sprinkle feta cheese to taste!

Time to eat

I must say, I really impressed myself. I am not sure what was holding me back in previous cooking ventures, but I now have a little more confidence in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

