Rhu La-La

My first time… cooking and eating rhubarb

I would never categorize myself as picky or finicky, in fact I would call myself a “trier”. Ever since I was a child my mom would make us try at least a few bites of everything on our plate, even if we had tried it before. This idea has carried over into my adult life, but somehow I have made it to 26 without ever having eaten rhubarb.

Fate intervened.

This spring and summer I have been watching a large rhubarb plant grow in our backyard. On my parents recent visit my mom did some harvesting and I was left to figure out what to do with this enormous jungle-looking plant.

*HUGE*

from my backyard!

After a little bit of searching I decided to whip up some Rhubarb Sauce– this is DIVINE! Begin by cutting off the leaf end as well as the root end

Yes, it's red AND green

Thinly slice the rhubarb stalks–these 8 stalks yielded a little over 4 cups once sliced

fall colors

In a large pot melt two tablespoons of butter or margarine over high heat

I never said the sauce was "healthy"

Add 1/2 cup packed brown sugar…

brown sugar baby

And four cups sliced rhubarb to the pot

Smells incredible

Stir in a few dashes of cinnamon and a teaspoon-ish of pure vanilla. Stir over high heat for 15 to 20 minutes for all the flavors to meld together. The sauce will have a somewhat light brown hue (no worries, this is totally normal) for serving purposes I added a couple of drops of red food color to liven things up!

That's more like it

It may not look like much, but wow is it wonderful– the sauce is a perfect mixture of summer and fall flavors. So, after dinner tonight it was time to use the sauce.

Vanilla bean ice cream, graham crackers and rhubarb sauce

Verdict?: I wish I had more rhubarb!

3 thoughts on “Rhu La-La

  1. LFamily2010 says:

    YUM, that looks fabulous!! I am for sure going to give it a try, although it wont be as fancy as yours with your rhubarb straight from the garden!

  2. Tony says:

    I want some!!!!!! That looks yummilicious!!

  3. Jenelle says:

    wow! that looks delicious! you are awesome!! when are you having that dinner party…?? 😉 JK.

Leave a Reply

