It’s Thai to me!

On my last visit home to Des Moines my mom was trying to give me a million different things from around the house… all the way up until we were pulling out of the driveway. One of the items that I was most excited about was Papparadelle’s Spicy Thai Noodles.

Thanks Mama!

While the noodles came with a suggested recipe, I thought I would see what I could drum up myself for dinner tonight. Thankfully I made my first visit to the Minneapolis Farmer’s Market last weekend so I had some yummy ingredients to throw together!!

Let's get this started!

I began by cleaning and chopping all of the veggies i.e. red, yellow and green peppers, cherry tomatoes, white onion, basil and parsley. I tossed them all in a bowl with olive oil, salt, pepper and crushed red peppers ( I am not much of a measurer, so this was all to taste). I covered the bowl with saran wrap and let  veggies marinate for about 2 hours.

Key to flavor is color

Similar to the veggies, I cut up three large chicken breasts into small pieces. The chicken was also covered with a small amount of olive oil, salt and pepper to taste; also allowed to marinate for about two hours.

Starting to get hungry

When I returned home from yoga, it was time to bring it all together. I started boiling the water for the thai noodles and heated skillet with a small amount of olive oil. Once the water was boiling- in went the noodles. I then tossed the chicken into the skillet, and browned it only slightly before adding all of the veggies.

Almost....almost....

To give it more Asian flavor, I added a few shakes of Soy Sauce– I made sure not to add too much as there was already quite a bit of liquid from the veggies and olive oil. After about 9 minutes… it was DINNER TIME!!!

This one made it onto the favorites list

I must say I impressed myself, and Kev must have loved it because there are very few if any leftovers! The veggies were cooked just enough so that they maintain their flavor and crisp texture. The noodles were incredible, while we can’t make it back to Des Moines all the time we are convinced that we can find something similar here in the Twin Cities!! I will be keeping this “recipe” in my back pocket! You should try it too!

Tagged ,

One thought on “It’s Thai to me!

  1. Tony says:

    man it looks so good. good on you MoQ. I am very inspired.

Leave a Reply

