Gnocchi, no?

My first time… cooking with gnocchi

Recently while at the grocery I found gnocchi on sale. While I have had gnocchi before I had never tried to make anything with it myself. Intrigued with the challenge I bought two packages and began looking around online to see how professionals prepared this Italian potato dumpling. There were lots of variations– after reading through the various recipes I decided to meld a few into my own creation.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 package mushrooms
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp garlic chili sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 4 tablespoons half and half
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 packages potato gnocchi
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas
I began by slicing mushrooms, and chopping both onions and garlic

Meanwhile, I was heating a skillet with a few tablespoons of olive oil on medium-high–once hot I added the garlic, onions and mushrooms to the skillet

I then added about a tablespoon of butter to the mix

Along with about a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce–just enough for a kick not so much to make it spicy

Once thoroughly mixed I added the chicken broth and allowed this to simmer until the liquid was reduced by about half

While the broth was simmering, I put a pot on the stove and started boiling water for the fluffy little potato pillows (aka the gnocchi)

Once ready, the gnocchi floated to the top of the pot

I used a slotted spoon to gently scoop the gnocchi into a colander to drain. I had to be careful with the gnocchi as they are rather fragile after boiling

I then added all of the hot gnocchi to the broth that was still simmering

Incorporating the gnocchi into the broth, I  added half a bag of frozen peas

After mixing in the peas, I finally took my first taste and decided to add some red pepper flakes

The smells were incredible– I scooped the mixture into a bowl and sprinkled with an asiago parmesan cheese mixture. Big spoon and a small glass of milk, I sat down for this dinner time treat.

The gnocchi was pretty good– I think next time I would like to make homemade gnocchi but I would like to stuff it with something other than potatoes; they made for a pretty filling meal. Nonetheless it was fun and a nice comfort meal for this cold winter night!!

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Gnocchi, no?

  1. gnocchi is very filling – but pretty good. Can’t wait to try your meal sometime this winter.
    PS – see you tomorrow :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

